mail@mabbaz.com Abu Dhabi, UAE

CAFM and Facility Management Software · IWMS

IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities

by IBM Rebranded

The successor to IBM TRIRIGA, delivered inside IBM Maximo Application Suite. Covers real estate and lease accounting, space and move management, capital planning and facilities maintenance, with cloud, on premises and hybrid deployment options.

Cloud, On-premises, Hybrid Commercial Last reviewed 7 November 2026 Documentation-based
Visit product site

What it is

If you are shopping for IBM TRIRIGA, the product you will actually be quoted is IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities, which IBM describes on its own product page as the evolution of IBM TRIRIGA. It is delivered inside IBM Maximo Application Suite rather than as a standalone product. The naming is currently untidy: the ibm.com/products/tririga URL still serves the Maximo branded page, and IBM maintains a separate TRIRIGA release information hub on its support site. Documentation uses "Maximo Real Estate and Facilities Platform" and "Applications" as separate versioned components, with 9.1 and 9.2 What is New pages in the docs index.

The product is lease and real estate led. IBM headlines AI powered lease abstraction that extracts key dates, financial terms and clauses from lease documents, plus lease creation and accounting with journal entries. Space management includes layout planning, dynamic space planning, move management, reservations for rooms, equipment and vehicles, and automated removal of ghost bookings. Capital planning covers procurement and project workflows, and there is strategic facility planning. The operational side is described more briefly as a mobile optimised system for locations, assets and work orders, with maintenance and operations and a Gantt scheduler in the documentation.

The documented portfolio data model is a genuine strength and the thing to read before committing. It covers locations, organizations, people, assets, specifications and geography, with CAD user roles and drawing management, a requesters role, and contract management. Reporting is BIRT based with a report manager and scheduled reports. Supported databases are Db2, Oracle and SQL Server, with per database preparation and performance tuning guidance, which tells you this is a product you are expected to tune rather than consume. MAS native plumbing includes S3 object storage, DataConnect jobs, an Administrator Console and object migration between environments. Single sign on is supported through Cloud Login and OAuth configuration.

Be careful with one integration claim. Oracle appears in the documentation as a supported database, not as an ERP integration. This profile does not record an Oracle ERP integration, and neither should your business case unless IBM confirms one in writing. The only integration claims verified on IBM pages are IoT integration and connected IoT data on the product page, and single sign on in the docs. SAP, Business Central, GIS, Power BI and Teams are not named.

Commercially there are three distinct routes, which is more flexibility than most enterprise IWMS vendors offer. The lightest is a set of SaaS "Essentials" SKUs on AWS Marketplace: Space Management Essentials, Lease Management Essentials and Capital Planning Essentials. Then there is Cloud SaaS Standard or Premium within MAS. Finally there is cloud, on premises or hybrid within MAS as a customer managed deployment. FedRAMP offerings exist for government customers. IBM publishes no price on the product page but does offer a price estimator and a quote request, and the AWS Marketplace listings may carry figures. There is no trial, but IBM does offer a product tour, a click through interactive demo and a booked live demo, which is more pre sales self service than most competitors in this profile.

IBM states it was named a leader in the IDC MarketScape for Worldwide AI Enabled Lease Administration Applications 2026.

Capabilities

Each capability carries its own verification status. “Not verified” means exactly that: it has not been checked, and must not be read as absent.

CapabilityStatusNotes
Multi-site and portfolio management Operating many sites from one tenant with separation of data and reporting by site. Yes Portfolio data model plus strategic facility planning. source
Reporting and dashboards Operational reporting and configurable dashboards. Yes Report manager, BIRT reporting and scheduled reports. source
Procurement and purchase orders Purchase requisitions and orders against maintenance work. Yes Capital planning with procurement and project workflows. source
BMS and IoT integration Receiving alarms or telemetry from building management systems and connected sensors. Yes IoT integration and connected IoT data. Building management system integration is not separately named. source
Mobile field application A mobile application for technicians in the field. Yes Described as mobile optimised. A dedicated native field app is not named. source
Property and lease operations Property portfolio, lease and tenancy administration. Yes AI powered lease abstraction plus lease creation and accounting with journal entries. source
Space and floor plan management Floor plans, space allocation and occupancy records. Yes Space management with layout planning, dynamic space planning, moves, reservations and ghost booking removal. source
Preventive maintenance scheduling Calendar and meter based planned maintenance schedules generating work orders automatically. Yes Maintenance and operations capability, with a Gantt scheduler in the documentation. source
Work order management Raising, assigning, tracking and closing reactive and planned work orders. Yes Described as a mobile optimised system for locations, assets and work orders. source
Asset register and hierarchy A structured asset register supporting parent and child relationships, locations and classification. Yes Managing portfolio data covers locations, organizations, people, assets, specifications and geography. source
BIM and CAD integration Consuming CAD or BIM models for space and asset data. Not verified CAD is documented, including CAD user roles and drawing management, but BIM and Revit are not named, so this is recorded as unknown rather than yes.
Inspections and audits Checklist driven inspections, audits and condition surveys with evidence capture. Not verified Not stated on the pages verified.
Contractor and supplier management Contractor records, assignment, permits and performance measurement. Not verified Contract management is documented but vendor or contractor management is not named.
SLA and KPI management Response and rectification targets measured against contractual service levels. Not verified No SLA or KPI management statement found on the product page or docs index.
FM helpdesk and service requests A request channel for building occupants, with triage and routing to the right team or contractor. Not verified Not stated as a named capability. The documentation refers to a requesters role, which is suggestive but not a helpdesk claim.

Deployment

ModelSupported
Cloud (vendor hosted) Yes
On-premises / self-hosted Yes
Hybrid Yes

Integrations

APIs

  • SAML or OIDC single sign-on source

Iot

  • IoT sensors and platforms source

Licensing and pricing

ItemValue
Licensing modelCommercial
Free versionNo
Trial availableNot verified
Published priceContact vendor for pricing
NoteNo figure published on the IBM product page. IBM offers a price estimator and a quote request instead. AWS Marketplace listings for the Space Management, Lease Management and Capital Planning Essentials SKUs may carry figures but were not opened, so no amount is recorded. No trial is offered on the product page, which instead provides a product tour, an interactive demo and a booked live demo.
Official pricing pageVendor pricing
Pricing last checked7 November 2026

Prices move and discounting is common. Treat anything here as a starting point and confirm with the vendor before budgeting.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • Three distinct commercial routes are offered: AWS Marketplace Essentials SKUs, Cloud SaaS Standard or Premium within MAS, and customer managed cloud, on premises or hybrid within MAS. verified source
  • AI powered lease abstraction extracts key dates, financial terms and clauses from lease documents, and IBM cites leadership in the IDC MarketScape for AI enabled lease administration 2026. verified source
  • Public, detailed documentation is available without a login, including database specific preparation and tuning guidance for Db2, Oracle and SQL Server. verified source

Limitations

  • Existing TRIRIGA customers face a documented platform migration onto Maximo Application Suite, covering database, user, license and file migration plus post migration tasks. verified source
  • Naming is currently ambiguous across ibm.com: the products/tririga URL serves a Maximo branded page while a separate TRIRIGA support hub persists, which makes it hard to be sure which product a quote covers. editorial
  • Buying requires taking on Maximo Application Suite licensing context, so the real decision is larger than the facilities requirement on its own. editorial

Who it suits

Organisation sizes: Enterprise

This product fits large enterprises with substantial leased portfolios, particularly where lease accounting and critical date management are the board level problem. AI assisted lease abstraction is the clearest differentiator in the product: if you have thousands of leases in PDF form and a compliance deadline, that feature has a measurable payback that most of this category cannot match.

It also fits organisations already committed to IBM Maximo Application Suite. If Maximo is already your EAM platform, Real Estate and Facilities shares the suite licensing, the administration console, the data plumbing and the security model. Buying it is an extension rather than a new platform. Conversely, if you are not a Maximo organisation, you are taking on MAS as well as the application, and that is a much larger decision than the facilities requirement alone justifies.

The deployment flexibility makes it one of the few credible options for buyers who need on premises or hybrid. Together with FedRAMP offerings, that makes it a serious candidate for government, defence and regulated sectors alongside Archibus.

It does not fit small or mid sized organisations, and IBM does not pretend otherwise. The AWS Marketplace Essentials SKUs are the lightest entry point and are still enterprise software bought on an enterprise marketplace. Nor does it fit a buyer whose primary need is hard FM execution: contractor and supplier management, SLA and KPI management, FM helpdesk as a named capability, and inspections and audits are not stated on the pages verified. A UK style CAFM or a CMMS will cover day to day maintenance delivery better and far more cheaply.

Existing TRIRIGA customers are in a different position again. The documented "Migrating from IBM TRIRIGA" path, covering database, user, license and user file migration plus post migration tasks, is not a version upgrade. It is a platform move onto MAS, and it should be scoped and costed as a project in its own right before the next renewal.

Typical use cases. Centralising a global lease portfolio with IFRS 16 or ASC 842 reporting and automated critical date alerts. Portfolio rationalisation modelling with strategic facility planning. Hybrid work space planning across a large office estate, including clearing unused reservations. Capital project and renewal planning tied to the same location and asset records. Extending an existing Maximo EAM deployment to cover real estate and space.

Watch for. That Oracle is a supported database and not a verified ERP integration. Which of the three commercial routes you are being quoted, because the Essentials SKUs are much narrower than full MAS. Whether FedRAMP covers your deployment. And database tuning responsibility, which the documentation treats as the customer problem.

Alternatives

Planon Integrated Workplace Management Solution Planon The main broad IWMS alternative. Planon verifies all fifteen tracked capabilities, including the helpdesk, SLA, contractor, inspection and BIM functions that are unverified for IBM, and avoids Maximo Application Suite licensing context. Against that, Planon publishes no documentation and no verified on premise option.
Archibus by Eptura Eptura The closest alternative on the two things IBM does unusually well: public documentation without a login and a genuine on premise option, with FedRAMP Authorized hosting on the Archibus side. Partner-only purchasing is the trade-off, and SLA, contractor and procurement functionality is unverified.
Nuvolo Connected Workplace Nuvolo, a Trane Technologies company The right comparison if the attraction of IBM is consolidating facilities onto a platform you already own. Nuvolo makes the same argument for ServiceNow instead of Maximo Application Suite, with a published implementation timeline of roughly 14 weeks for a core package and strong healthcare and life sciences verticals.
MRI ManhattanONE MRI Software A narrower corporate real estate alternative if lease compliance and transaction modelling are the real requirement rather than maintenance. MRI names FASB ASC 842 and IFRS 16 explicitly, but nine capabilities and all three deployment models are unverified, so the comparison is limited by available evidence.
FMS:Workplace FM:Systems, a Johnson Controls company A comparable IWMS with thirteen of fifteen capabilities verified, including SLA and KPI management, contractor management and bidirectional Revit integration, all of which are unverified for IBM. No Maximo licensing context, but also no public documentation and no verified on premise option.

See the full IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities alternatives guide

Compared with other products

Frequently asked questions

The name is being retired rather than the capability. IBM markets Maximo Real Estate and Facilities as the evolution of IBM TRIRIGA, delivered inside Maximo Application Suite, and publishes a documented migration path from TRIRIGA. The TRIRIGA name still appears in the ibm.com product URL and on IBM support pages.

Not verifiably. Oracle appears in IBM documentation as a supported database alongside Db2 and SQL Server, not as an ERP integration. Do not assume an Oracle ERP connector without written confirmation from IBM.

Yes. IBM lists cloud, on premises or hybrid within Maximo Application Suite as a customer managed option, alongside two SaaS routes. FedRAMP offerings exist for government customers.

IBM lists SaaS Essentials SKUs on AWS Marketplace for Space Management, Lease Management and Capital Planning. They are narrower in scope than the full suite. Confirm exactly which modules and limits apply before treating them as equivalent.

Sources and review basis

  • Evaluation basis: vendor documentation and public sources, not hands-on testing
  • Last reviewed: 7 November 2026
  • Vendor: IBM
  • Documentation: Official docs

References

Disclosure

Alongside advisory work I also build a CMMS and CAFM platform, so I have a commercial interest in enterprise software generally. No vendor in this directory has paid for inclusion, placement or wording, and there are no reseller or affiliate arrangements. Weigh the analysis accordingly.

Evaluating IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities?

Independent help testing it against your actual requirement, and designing the data integration it will depend on. 22+ years across ERP, EAM, CAFM and enterprise integration. No reseller arrangements.

Book a conversation

At a glance

Need a second opinion?

Independent evaluation help, with no vendor relationships.

Get in touch
MAbbaz.com
© MAbbaz.com