Comparison · Structured data · Sourced
Planon versus IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities
These are the two IWMS platforms that large organisations most often end up shortlisting against each other, and both arrive at that shortlist under a name that has recently changed. Planon now markets the Planon Integrated Workplace Management Solution, built on the Planon Platform and delivered through the Planon Live continuous release model. The product sold as Planon Universe from 2015 is no longer offered under that label, and Planon states that customer customisations are to be rebuilt as apps on the new platform. Planon is a Dutch vendor, and Schneider Electric agreed in July 2024 to take a controlling 80 percent stake, consolidating Planon into its Energy Management business.
IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities is the successor to IBM TRIRIGA, now delivered inside IBM Maximo Application Suite. IBM describes it on its own product page as the evolution of IBM TRIRIGA, and the documentation carries a dedicated section on migrating from TRIRIGA covering database, user, license and file migration. The TRIRIGA name survives in the product URL and in support pages, which is worth knowing when you read a proposal.
Planon targets medium and large organisations. IBM targets enterprise buyers only. Both are real estate and portfolio led platforms rather than maintenance first tools, so if your requirement is a work order backlog and a technician app, read CAFM versus CMMS versus EAM versus IWMS before either of these.
Last reviewed 7 November 2026
The products
Planon Integrated Workplace Management Solution
Planon
Planon is a Dutch IWMS vendor, now majority owned by Schneider Electric, selling a broad integrated workplace management suite covering real estate, maintenance, space and workplace services on the Planon Platform.
Full profileIBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities
IBM
The successor to IBM TRIRIGA, delivered inside IBM Maximo Application Suite. Covers real estate and lease accounting, space and move management, capital planning and facilities maintenance, with cloud, on premises and hybrid deployment options.
Full profileThe main differences
Where they overlap
Verified capability coverage is close across the portfolio half of the scope. Both products have verified asset registers, work orders, preventive maintenance, space management, property and lease operations, procurement, reporting and multi-site portfolio handling. Both have verified IoT capability: Planon through Connect for Building Advisor, which turns building automation data into action, and IBM through connected IoT data. Both handle dual-standard lease accounting, Planon covering FASB and IASB treatment and IBM offering lease creation and accounting with journal entries alongside AI powered lease abstraction that extracts dates, financial terms and clauses from lease documents.
Where they differ on verified evidence
Planon has the broader verified footprint. All fifteen capabilities tracked in this directory are verified for Planon, including FM helpdesk through Facility Service Management, SLA and contract management, vendor and warranty management, health and safety inspections, a mobile field capability and bidirectional OpenBIM integration. For IBM, five of the same fifteen could not be verified from published sources: FM helpdesk, SLA management, contractor management, inspections and BIM. That is not the same as absence. IBM documents CAD, including CAD user roles and drawing management, and refers to a requesters role, but neither BIM nor a named helpdesk module is stated, so this directory records them as unverified.
If you run outsourced FM against contractual service levels, that evidence gap matters commercially. The SLA structure you need to encode is the thing you should be demonstrating in the demo rather than assuming, and SLA matrix design for FM operations sets out what to ask for.
Deployment and integration
IBM is the clearer answer on deployment. Cloud, on premises and hybrid are all verified, and IBM offers three distinct commercial routes: AWS Marketplace Essentials SKUs for Space Management, Lease Management and Capital Planning, cloud SaaS Standard or Premium within MAS, and customer managed cloud, on premises or hybrid within MAS. For Planon, cloud is verified and on premise could not be verified either way. Planon productises integration into named connectors, Connect for AutoCAD, Connect for OpenBIM, Connect for Building Advisor and Connect for Analytics, which is a more purchasable shape than a services engagement. Planon does not claim a REST API, describing only web services or XML based integration.
Documentation is the sharpest practical difference. IBM publishes detailed documentation without a login, down to database specific preparation and tuning guidance for Db2, Oracle and SQL Server. Planon publishes no public documentation or release notes at all, requiring a customer portal login, so technical fit cannot be assessed before purchase.
Licensing posture
Neither vendor publishes a price figure. Planon is quote only, with every page routing to a demo request and no trial advertised. IBM is subscription based and offers a price estimator and a quote request rather than a published rate card. Neither offers a trial. Any figure you find for either product on a review aggregator is not vendor published and should not be used for budgeting.
Side by side
| Attribute | Planon Integrated Workplace Management Solution | IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities |
|---|---|---|
| Vendor | Planon | IBM |
| Primary use | IWMS | IWMS |
| Deployment | Cloud | Cloud, On-premises, Hybrid |
| Organisation size | Medium, Enterprise | Enterprise |
| Licensing model | Commercial | Commercial |
| Free version | No | No |
| Trial | Not verified | Not verified |
| Published price | Contact vendor for pricing | Contact vendor for pricing |
| Product status | Rebranded | Rebranded |
| Capabilities | ||
| Documented API | Not verified | Not verified |
| Multi-site and portfolio management | Yes Consolidated portfolio view; maintenance planning across the enterprise. source | Yes Portfolio data model plus strategic facility planning. source |
| Multi-site support | Not verified | Not verified |
| Reporting and dashboards | Yes Connect for Analytics and platform Data and Analytics Services. source | Yes Report manager, BIRT reporting and scheduled reports. source |
| Outlook and Teams integration | Not verified | Not verified |
| Procurement and purchase orders | Yes Procurement Management module. source | Yes Capital planning with procurement and project workflows. source |
| BMS and IoT integration | Yes Connect for Building Advisor turns building automation data into action; IoT Services on the platform. source | Yes IoT integration and connected IoT data. Building management system integration is not separately named. source |
| Mobile app | Not verified | Not verified |
| BIM and CAD integration | Yes Connect for AutoCAD and Connect for OpenBIM, the latter bidirectional. source | Not verified CAD is documented, including CAD user roles and drawing management, but BIM and Revit are not named, so this is recorded as unknown rather than yes. |
| Wayfinding | Not verified | Not verified |
| Mobile field application | Yes Work orders resolvable from smartphone or tablet; separate Workplace App. source | Yes Described as mobile optimised. A dedicated native field app is not named. source |
| Utilisation reporting | Not verified | Not verified |
| Inspections and audits | Yes Health and Safety Management; Connect for Building Advisor generates inspections. source | Not verified Not stated on the pages verified. |
| Sensor integration | Not verified | Not verified |
| Property and lease operations | Yes Real Estate Management plus a Lease Accounting Solution covering FASB and IASB. source | Yes AI powered lease abstraction plus lease creation and accounting with journal entries. source |
| Workplace experience app | Not verified | Not verified |
| Hybrid work scheduling | Not verified | Not verified |
| Space and floor plan management | Yes Space Management; Kiosk presents floor plans and occupancy. source | Yes Space management with layout planning, dynamic space planning, moves, reservations and ghost booking removal. source |
| Contractor and supplier management | Yes Vendor and Warranty Management, plus vendor SLA adherence tracking. source | Not verified Contract management is documented but vendor or contractor management is not named. |
| Visitor management | Not verified | Not verified |
| Occupancy analytics | Not verified | Not verified |
| SLA and KPI management | Yes Contract and SLA Management. Named KPI functionality not separately stated. source | Not verified No SLA or KPI management statement found on the product page or docs index. |
| FM helpdesk and service requests | Yes Facility Service Management lets employees request and monitor services. source | Not verified Not stated as a named capability. The documentation refers to a requesters role, which is suggestive but not a helpdesk claim. |
| Space allocation and planning | Not verified | Not verified |
| Interactive floor plans | Not verified | Not verified |
| Preventive maintenance scheduling | Yes Preventive Maintenance plus a Maintenance Plan Viewer. source | Yes Maintenance and operations capability, with a Gantt scheduler in the documentation. source |
| Meeting room booking | Not verified | Not verified |
| Work order management | Yes Reactive Work Orders module. source | Yes Described as a mobile optimised system for locations, assets and work orders. source |
| Asset register and hierarchy | Yes Asset Lifecycle Management and Asset Attribute Management named by vendor. source | Yes Managing portfolio data covers locations, organizations, people, assets, specifications and geography. source |
| Desk booking | Not verified | Not verified |
| Last reviewed | 7 November 2026 | 7 November 2026 |
| Profile | View profile | View profile |
Not verified means the capability has not been checked for that product. It does not mean the product lacks it. Blank cells and unverified rows are never counted as a "no".
Strengths and limitations
Drawn from each product's own profile, where every item is labelled a verified fact or an editorial judgement.
Planon Integrated Workplace Management Solution
Read the full assessmentIBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities
Read the full assessmentWhich to choose
Choose IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities when you already have, or are willing to take on, Maximo Application Suite; when on premises or hybrid hosting is a hard requirement; when lease abstraction across a large document estate is a real workload; or when your procurement process demands that you read the documentation before you sign. The counterweight is that the buying decision is larger than the facilities requirement, because you are taking on MAS licensing context, and existing TRIRIGA customers face a documented platform migration with post migration tasks.
Choose Planon when the requirement spans hard FM and portfolio in one system and you want the service management, SLA, contractor and inspection side verified rather than discovered in implementation; when bidirectional BIM matters; or when a Schneider Electric relationship on the energy and building side is an advantage rather than a complication. The counterweights are the absence of any public documentation, and the platform migration that requires existing customisations to be rebuilt as apps. Scope that before renewal, not after.
Evidence gaps on both sides. For IBM, five capabilities are unverified and the exact 9.2 release dates could not be confirmed. Naming is ambiguous across ibm.com, where the TRIRIGA product URL serves a Maximo branded page while a separate TRIRIGA support hub persists, so confirm in writing which product a quote covers. For Planon, on premise availability is unverified, the Planon Platform migration deadlines were seen only in a search snippet and are unverified, and the completion date of the Schneider Electric transaction is stated but undated. Neither vendor publishes target organisation size bands, so the size positioning in this directory is inferred from solution framing. Treat both capability matrices as a map of what each vendor is willing to state in public, which is itself a useful signal.
Frequently asked questions
IBM describes Maximo Real Estate and Facilities as the evolution of IBM TRIRIGA, delivered inside Maximo Application Suite. The documentation includes a dedicated section on migrating from TRIRIGA, covering database, user, license and file migration, so existing TRIRIGA customers face a documented platform move rather than a simple rename. The TRIRIGA name still appears in the product URL and in support pages.
Neither question can be answered from published sources. Planon is quote only and publishes no figure anywhere. IBM publishes no figure either and offers a price estimator and a quote request instead. Prices quoted for either product on review aggregators are not vendor published and are excluded from this directory.
This could not be verified from published sources. IBM documents CAD, including CAD user roles and drawing management, but neither BIM nor Revit is named, so this directory records BIM support as unverified rather than absent. Planon, by contrast, publishes Connect for OpenBIM and describes it as bidirectional.
IBM states cloud, on premises and hybrid options, all verified. For Planon, cloud is verified and on premise availability could not be verified from published sources. A search snippet suggested that Planon Live applies regardless of on premise or cloud installation, but this was not confirmed on an opened page, so it is not treated as a fact here.
Related comparisons
- Archibus versus Planon: two enterprise platforms for space and portfolio
- IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities versus MRI ManhattanONE
- Facilio versus Planon
- Eptura Workplace versus Planon: two IWMS routes to workplace and space
Sources and review basis
Attribute values come from each product's structured profile rather than being written into this page, so a correction made once appears everywhere. This comparison was last reviewed on 7 November 2026. Assessment of this category is documentation-based, not hands-on testing of every product.
- Planon Integrated Workplace Management Solution accessed 7 November 2026
- Planon and Schneider Electric to expand on their strategic collaboration accessed 7 November 2026
- IBM Maximo Real Estate and Facilities, the evolution of IBM TRIRIGA accessed 7 November 2026
- Maximo Real Estate and Facilities documentation index accessed 7 November 2026
Disclosure
Alongside advisory work I also build a CMMS and CAFM platform, so I have a commercial interest in enterprise software generally. No vendor here has paid for inclusion, placement or wording, and there are no reseller or affiliate arrangements.
Deciding between these?
Independent help scoring them against your actual requirement rather than a feature list, and designing the integration work that follows. No reseller arrangements.
Book a conversationWant a different pairing? Build your own comparison from any products in the directory.