mail@mabbaz.com Abu Dhabi, UAE

HRMS and HCM Software · HRIS for smaller teams

Bob

by HiBob (Hi Bob, Inc.)

HiBob cloud people platform covering core HR, hiring, learning, time, compensation, workforce planning and benefits. Native payroll is US and UK only; elsewhere Payroll Hub syncs to a third party payroll engine.

Cloud Commercial Last reviewed 7 November 2026 Documentation-based
Visit product site

What it is

A naming note, since the brief listed this as HiBob. The company is HiBob, with a copyright line reading Hi Bob, Inc., and the product is called Bob, described on its own product page as an award winning modern people platform built for the AI era. It is listed here under the product name with the vendor named separately.

Bob named capabilities include core HR and data and analytics, Hiring, Learning, Time, Time Off, Compensation, Workforce Planning, Benefits Administration and Employee Self Service. The API documentation exposes an Employee data API and a Time Off API and documents webhooks, which is a better integration posture than several larger products in this category.

Payroll is where a Gulf buyer needs to be careful. Bob has native payroll for the United States and the United Kingdom only, marketed as US Payroll and UK Payroll. Everywhere else, HiBob offers Payroll Hub, which it describes explicitly as a connection between Bob and most payroll systems that syncs payroll change data outward, with unlisted systems connected through Payroll Connect. Payroll Hub is an integration layer, not a payroll engine. Named integrated payroll partners include ADP Workforce Now, Cloudpay and Paylocity. The only countries referenced in that context are the UK and the US.

Neither the product page nor the Payroll Hub page mentions the UAE, the Middle East, the Gulf, the GCC or the Wage Protection System. United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia appear only in a country dropdown on the contact form, which is not a market or product claim. If a Gulf payroll story is told about Bob at all, it must be described as third party payroll integration with no UAE provider named by HiBob.

On pricing, HiBob publishes no figure of its own. Its pricing page lists demo options rather than prices and describes enterprise pricing as custom. One number does appear on the product page, a general market range of roughly 2 to 30 per person per month, but it is attributed to TrustRadius, a review aggregator, and is therefore unusable as HiBob pricing. There is no free version and no free trial, only a demo and a sandbox.

Capabilities

Each capability carries its own verification status. “Not verified” means exactly that: it has not been checked, and must not be read as absent.

CapabilityStatusNotes
Documented API A publicly documented API for integration. Yes Public HR API with an Employee data API, a Time Off API and webhooks. The API style is not printed as REST on the docs page. source
Workforce planning Headcount planning, org modelling and forecasting. Yes source
Benefits administration Benefit plans, enrolment and deductions. Yes source
Employee self-service Employees maintaining their own data and requests. Yes Employee Self Service is named explicitly. source
Learning management Course delivery, assignment and completion tracking. Yes source
Recruitment and ATS Vacancy management and applicant tracking. Yes Hiring. source
Leave management Leave entitlement, accrual, requests and approvals. Yes Time Off API documented. source
Time and attendance Clocking, shift patterns and overtime calculation. Yes Time, and a Time and Attendance demo option on the pricing page. source
Payroll processing Native payroll calculation and payment runs, in at least one jurisdiction. Yes Native US Payroll and UK Payroll, plus Payroll Hub as an integration layer to third party engines elsewhere. source
Employee records A central employee record with history and documents. Yes source
Mobile app A mobile application for employees and managers. Not verified Not named on the pages opened.
Compliance and reporting Statutory reporting and compliance documentation. Not verified Not stated on the pages opened.
Manager self-service Managers approving and viewing their team data. Not verified Not stated.
Performance management Goals, reviews and appraisal cycles. Not verified Talent Management is named; the word performance was not printed on the pages opened.
Onboarding Structured onboarding workflows and document collection. Not verified Not named as a module in the wording verified, although widely assumed.
UAE and GCC payroll Payroll specifically supporting UAE or GCC requirements, named by the vendor. Not inferred from global coverage claims. Not verified Unknown. Native payroll is US and UK only. Payroll Hub is explicitly an integration and aggregation layer rather than a payroll engine, and HiBob names no UAE payroll provider. The UAE, the Gulf, the GCC and WPS are never mentioned on the product or Payroll Hub pages; United Arab Emirates appears only in a contact form country dropdown.

Deployment

ModelSupported
Cloud (vendor hosted) Yes
On-premises / self-hosted Not verified
Hybrid Not verified

Integrations

ERP systems

APIs

Hr

Collaboration

Licensing and pricing

ItemValue
Licensing modelCommercial
Free versionNo
Trial availableNo
Published priceContact vendor for pricing
NoteHiBob publishes no price of its own. The pricing page lists demo options only and enterprise pricing is described as custom. A range of roughly 2 to 30 per person per month appears on the product page but is attributed to TrustRadius, a review aggregator, and is therefore not recorded as HiBob pricing. A sandbox demo is offered, which is not a free trial.
Official pricing pageVendor pricing
Pricing last checked7 November 2026

Prices move and discounting is common. Treat anything here as a starting point and confirm with the vendor before budgeting.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • Bob documents webhooks alongside its public HR API, which many larger products in this category do not, making event driven integration practical. verified source

Limitations

  • Native payroll is United States and United Kingdom only. Everything else runs through Payroll Hub or Payroll Connect to a third party engine, and no UAE provider is named. verified source
  • The only price figure on HiBob own site is a market range attributed to TrustRadius, which makes it unusable for budgeting. verified source
  • There is no free trial. Evaluation is demo and sandbox gated. verified source
  • HiBob markets SSO while naming identity providers rather than SAML, and SCIM is nowhere stated, so enterprise IT buyers cannot confirm provisioning standards from the public site. editorial

Who it suits

Organisation sizes: Medium, Enterprise

Bob fits mid sized to larger companies, often distributed and often tech or professional services, that want a modern core HR record with strong self service, culture and engagement features, learning and workforce planning. Its API and webhook documentation and a credible integration catalogue make it a reasonable choice where HR data needs to feed other systems.

For a UAE employer, Bob is an HRIS and the payroll question stays open. You would run Bob as the system of record and keep UAE payroll in a separate engine, with Payroll Hub or Payroll Connect pushing change data to it. HiBob names no UAE payroll partner, so you would have to establish that connection yourself with your chosen local provider. That is workable for a company that already has a satisfactory UAE payroll bureau and wants to modernise HR around it. It is the wrong purchase if the problem you are solving is WPS compliant payroll.

Enterprise IT buyers should also note that HiBob markets SSO and names Microsoft Entra ID and Okta as identity providers, but does not print the word SAML, and SCIM is nowhere stated on its public site. Provisioning standards cannot be confirmed from public information and should be asked about directly.

Typical use cases: distributed mid market companies replacing a first generation HRIS; employers where engagement, self service and manager visibility drive the purchase; companies with US and UK payroll in scope. Less typical: Gulf only employers needing statutory payroll, and buyers who need a published price before engaging with sales.

Alternatives

BambooHR BambooHR The direct alternative, and the one you can budget before talking to sales: Core 10, Pro 17 and Elite 25 USD per employee per month with the currency stated, against no HiBob price at all. Note that the BambooHR FAQ contradicts its own headline by 25 to 50 cents, that the add on modules are unpriced, and that its payroll is designed for US based employees only.
Personio Personio A European mid market HRIS in the same bracket as Bob. Its profile here is thin for a retrieval reason: www.personio.com returned HTTP 429 on every attempt, so capabilities and pricing are unverified. A snippet suggested around 7.60 euros per employee per month and plans named Core and Core Pro, but no vendor page could be read so nothing is published.
Rippling Rippling A broader platform if you want HR, time, recruiting and performance on one record, with a published entry price of 8 per employee per month plus a monthly base fee and modular pricing beyond. USD is inferred from a bare dollar sign. No Gulf country is named anywhere, so UAE payroll is unverified.
Factorial Factorial A European SMB alternative publishing a single entry figure of 8 per user per month, with Factorial Core in all plans and everything else an add on module, so real cost comes from a tailored quote. The currency is inferred from a bare dollar sign and is notably ambiguous for a European vendor.
Zoho People Zoho Corporation Substantially cheaper, with a forever free edition for up to five users and a 30 day trial that downgrades to Free rather than expiring. For a Gulf buyer, pair it with the separate Zoho Payroll UAE edition for WPS SIF generation, because Zoho People itself names no Gulf country.

Compared with other products

Frequently asked questions

The product is Bob. The company is HiBob, whose copyright line reads Hi Bob, Inc. HiBob own product page describes Bob as a modern people platform.

No, not natively. HiBob native payroll covers the United States and the United Kingdom only. For other countries it offers Payroll Hub, which it describes as a connection to most payroll systems that syncs payroll change data out, so the payroll calculation happens in a third party engine. HiBob names no UAE payroll partner and never mentions the Wage Protection System, so UAE payroll is recorded as unknown and would in any case be delivered by another product.

Sources and review basis

  • Evaluation basis: vendor documentation and public sources, not hands-on testing
  • Last reviewed: 7 November 2026
  • Vendor: HiBob (Hi Bob, Inc.)
  • Documentation: Official docs

References

Disclosure

Alongside advisory work I also build a CMMS and CAFM platform, so I have a commercial interest in enterprise software generally. No vendor in this directory has paid for inclusion, placement or wording, and there are no reseller or affiliate arrangements. Weigh the analysis accordingly.

Evaluating Bob?

Independent help testing it against your actual requirement, and designing the data integration it will depend on. 22+ years across ERP, EAM, CAFM and enterprise integration. No reseller arrangements.

Book a conversation

At a glance

  • Vendor
    HiBob (Hi Bob, Inc.)
  • Category
    HRMS and HCM Software
  • Primary use
    HRIS for smaller teams
  • Deployment
    Cloud
  • Licensing
    Commercial
  • Status
    Active

Need a second opinion?

Independent evaluation help, with no vendor relationships.

Get in touch
MAbbaz.com
© MAbbaz.com