Comparison · Structured data · Sourced
Kadence vs deskbird
These two are the closest pairing in the category, and the most useful comparison in it. Both are primarily workplace booking products. Both bill by active user, meaning people who actually make a booking in the month rather than everyone on the payroll, which is materially cheaper than per-seat licensing wherever office attendance is low or uneven. The difference is that deskbird publishes its rates and Kadence does not, and that Kadence sells a real space planning line alongside the booking product while deskbird does not.
Neither has been acquired or renamed as far as this research established. Kadence appears independent and active, with the most recent concrete corporate event being a USD 20 million Series A announced in July 2025 and the company site crediting Dan Bladen as chief executive and co-founder. That should be read as no evidence of a change rather than positive confirmation, since no vendor ownership statement was read. deskbird likewise showed no acquisition or rename, and its status is recorded as active on the basis of a live site with current pricing.
Last reviewed 7 November 2026
The products
Kadence
Kadence
Kadence is an AI-assisted workplace operations platform sold in WorkOps and SpaceOps product lines, covering booking, visitor management, move management, stack and scenario space planning, HRIS integration and workplace insights, billed per active user.
Full profiledeskbird
deskbird
deskbird is desk booking and hybrid work software billed per active user, with published multi-currency rates, native Microsoft Teams and Outlook add-ins, calendar sync, SCIM provisioning, SAML SSO, HRIS integrations and an open API.
Full profileThe main differences
Pricing: the same model, one of them priced
deskbird publishes per active user per month rates in several named currencies on its Business plan, with a minimum of 25 users. Annual then monthly billing: USD 3.75 and 4.75, EUR 2.75 and 3.50, CHF 2.75 and 3.50, GBP 2.50 and 3.25. Two further rows at 5.00 and 6.50, and 5.50 and 7.25, match CAD and AUD by position in the currency selector, but the page does not label each figure with an ISO code, so those two are inferred and should be confirmed. Professional and Enterprise are custom priced. There is no listed free plan; the FAQ describes a free trial with no credit card needed and says that afterwards you can upgrade or stay on a Starter plan limited to 15 users, whose price and terms are not published, so whether Starter is free could not be verified.
Kadence publishes no figures at all. Its pricing page states that quotes come in your local currency, that onboarding and implementation cost nothing on every plan, that billing is by active user defined as people who make a booking within the month, and that contracts run a minimum of one year billed annually. There is no free plan and no trial mentioned. Note also that several desirable items are paid add-ons rather than included: editable floor plans, visitor management documents, and Insights Plus on the Team tier. The tier names understate what you will actually buy, so read the add-on list against your requirements before accepting a headline quote.
What Kadence has that deskbird does not
Kadence splits the two halves of this category explicitly in its product structure. WorkOps Team covers booking, Kadence AI in Teams and Slack, automatic check-in, visitor management, workplace insights and a Kadence MCP server in early access. WorkOps Pro adds room displays, a visitor kiosk, Move Manager, HRIS integrations named as Workday, BambooHR and HiBob, workplace events, employee surveys and custom roles. SpaceOps is the space planning line: an AI planning agent, stack and scenario planning, space planning down to seat level, guided workflows, floor plan editing, and publishing plans through to WorkOps. An Enterprise Bundle combines WorkOps Pro and SpaceOps.
That last workflow, planning to seat level, running scenarios and then publishing the plan into the booking system, is the thing organisations usually stitch together across two vendors. deskbird has nothing comparable: floor plans, space allocation, chargeback and portfolio reporting are all absent from its published material, and sensors are not among its listed integrations.
What deskbird has that Kadence does not
deskbird documents enterprise IT plumbing in unusual depth for its price point, and that is what decides procurement in large organisations. SCIM for automated user provisioning and management. SSO across OAuth 2.0, SAML 2.0 and FIDO2, with named options including Custom SAML2, Microsoft Entra ID, Google Workspace SSO, Okta, OneLogin and Keycloak. Google Workspace user and group sync. An Open API for access control systems and workflow automation, with documented use cases across analytics, finance and cost control, facility management and sustainability reporting. Ticketing with Jira and ServiceNow, access control with Gallagher and Salto, signage with Embrava, Iiyama, ProDVX and Tapirx, and HRIS including Workday, SAP SuccessFactors, BambooHR, Personio and ADP.
Outlook and Teams: deskbird is clearly ahead on evidence
deskbird names both Outlook and Teams explicitly, describing itself as native in MS Teams and separately listing a Microsoft Outlook add-in for integration directly within Outlook, with personal and resource calendars kept in sync across Microsoft 365 and Google. Kadence states that Kadence AI is available in Teams and Slack on WorkOps Team, but does not name Outlook, and does not state calendar-native booking behaviour. That is weaker Microsoft evidence. Neither vendor states whether bookings can be created and cancelled from the calendar itself as opposed to appearing in it, and neither documents recurring meetings, which no vendor in this category does, Microsoft included. Recurring meetings are where room booking most often breaks, so that absence is worth a demonstration rather than a shrug.
Side by side
| Attribute | Kadence | deskbird |
|---|---|---|
| Vendor | Kadence | deskbird |
| Primary use | Desk and room booking | Desk and room booking |
| Deployment | Cloud | Cloud |
| Organisation size | Medium, Enterprise | Small, Medium, Enterprise |
| Licensing model | Commercial | Commercial |
| Free version | No | Not verified |
| Trial | Not verified | Yes |
| Published price | Contact vendor for pricing | USD 3.75 per active user per month, Business plan, annual billing, minimum 25 users |
| Product status | Active | Active |
| Capabilities | ||
| Documented API | Not verified A Kadence MCP server is listed in early access, which is not the same as a documented public REST API. No API documentation was located. | Yes An Open API is offered for access control and workflow automation with an API section and documented use cases. REST and webhooks are not named. source |
| Multi-site support | Not verified Not explicitly stated on the pricing page. | Not verified Not explicitly stated on the pages read. |
| Outlook and Teams integration | Yes Kadence AI is available in Teams and Slack on WorkOps Team. Outlook is not named, and whether booking, cancelling and recurring meetings work from a calendar is not stated. This is weaker Microsoft evidence than Robin. source | Yes Strongest Microsoft evidence in this set alongside Robin: described as native in MS Teams, with a separate Microsoft Outlook add-in for integration directly within Outlook, and personal and resource calendars kept in sync with Microsoft 365 and Google. Not stated: whether bookings can be created and cancelled from the calendar itself, or how recurring meetings behave. source |
| Mobile app | Not verified Not named on the pricing page. | Not verified Not explicitly stated on the pages read, although native Teams use is described. |
| Wayfinding | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not described. |
| Utilisation reporting | Yes Workplace insights, with Insights Plus available as an add-on. source | Not verified Analytics and BI and sustainability and ESG are listed as API use cases, but no in-product utilisation reporting was verified. |
| Sensor integration | Not verified Not mentioned on the pricing page. | Not verified Sensors are not among the listed integrations. A vendor blog title refers to measuring occupancy without sensors, which is suggestive but not a capability statement either way. |
| Workplace experience app | Yes Workplace events and employee surveys in WorkOps Pro. source | Not verified Not described. |
| Hybrid work scheduling | Not verified Not named explicitly on the pricing page, although the product is positioned for hybrid work coordination. | Yes Work locations are shared through Slack and the product is positioned for hybrid work. source |
| Visitor management | Yes Visitor management in WorkOps Team, visitor kiosk in Pro, VMS Documents as a paid add-on. source | Not verified Not described on the pages read. |
| Occupancy analytics | Yes Workplace insights in WorkOps Team, with Insights Plus as an add-on. source | Not verified Analytics and BI is listed as an API use case, which implies data is available for external analysis, but no in-product occupancy analytics capability was verified. |
| Space allocation and planning | Yes SpaceOps covers stack and scenario planning and space planning to seat level, with plans publishable to WorkOps. Move Manager is in WorkOps Pro. source | Not verified Not described. |
| Interactive floor plans | Yes Floor plan editing is in SpaceOps. Editable floor plans are also listed as a paid add-on, so check which tier gives what. source | Not verified Not stated on the pages read. |
| Meeting room booking | Yes Room displays are included in WorkOps Pro. source | Yes Resource calendars sync with Microsoft 365 and Google, and room signage partners Embrava, Iiyama, ProDVX and Tapirx are listed. source |
| Desk booking | Yes Booking and automatic check-in in WorkOps Team. source | Yes Core product, billed per active user. source |
| Last reviewed | 7 November 2026 | 7 November 2026 |
| Profile | View profile | View profile |
Not verified means the capability has not been checked for that product. It does not mean the product lacks it. Blank cells and unverified rows are never counted as a "no".
Strengths and limitations
Drawn from each product's own profile, where every item is labelled a verified fact or an editorial judgement.
Kadence
Read the full assessmentdeskbird
Read the full assessmentWhich to choose
Choose deskbird if you have many employees and many desks, if IT governance decides your procurement, and if you want to model cost in your own currency without a sales call. At USD 3.75 or EUR 2.75 per active user per month on annual billing it is simply cheap for this category, and the SCIM, SAML 2.0, FIDO2 and HRIS documentation is better than most competitors at any price. The 25-user minimum rules out very small teams on the Business plan.
Choose Kadence if you need booking and genuine space planning from one vendor, and your attendance is patchy enough that active-user billing earns its keep. If you have 2,000 employees and 600 book in a typical month, you pay for 600. If nearly everyone books every month, the model offers no advantage and the absence of a published rate makes comparison hard. The honest cost of Kadence is also the add-ons, so price editable floor plans, VMS Documents and Insights Plus into the quote from the start.
One shared caution: both vendors ship recent AI and MCP features, Kadence explicitly labelling its MCP server early access and deskbird positioning its Open API for automation. Treat anything labelled early access as unproven and ask for it demonstrated against your own data rather than a vendor dataset.
Frequently asked questions
In both products it means you are charged for people who make a booking within the month, not for total headcount. Kadence states that definition on its pricing page and deskbird prices its Business plan per active user per month. For organisations with low or uneven return-to-office rates this can be substantially cheaper than per-seat licensing. Where nearly everyone books every month, it is no different from per-seat.
deskbird, on the published evidence. It describes itself as native in MS Teams and separately lists a Microsoft Outlook add-in, with personal and resource calendars synced to Microsoft 365 and Google. Kadence states Kadence AI works in Teams and Slack but does not name Outlook. Neither states whether bookings can be created from the calendar itself, and neither documents recurring meetings.
No published evidence of it. Floor plans, space allocation, chargeback and portfolio reporting are absent from the deskbird material read, and sensors are not among its listed integrations. Kadence SpaceOps covers stack and scenario planning to seat level with plans publishable into booking, which is the main functional reason to prefer Kadence.
deskbird states a free trial with no credit card needed, after which you can upgrade or stay on a Starter plan limited to 15 users whose terms are not published. Kadence mentions no trial and no free plan, with a minimum one-year contract billed annually, so evaluation requires a sales process.
Sources and review basis
Attribute values come from each product's structured profile rather than being written into this page, so a correction made once appears everywhere. This comparison was last reviewed on 7 November 2026. Assessment of this category is documentation-based, not hands-on testing of every product.
- Kadence pricing and plans accessed 7 November 2026
- deskbird pricing accessed 7 November 2026
- deskbird integrations accessed 7 November 2026
Disclosure
Alongside advisory work I also build a CMMS and CAFM platform, so I have a commercial interest in enterprise software generally. No vendor here has paid for inclusion, placement or wording, and there are no reseller or affiliate arrangements.
Deciding between these?
Independent help scoring them against your actual requirement rather than a feature list, and designing the integration work that follows. No reseller arrangements.
Book a conversationWant a different pairing? Build your own comparison from any products in the directory.